Themes Mark all newsUncheck all news

Upcoming events

Travel restrictions between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania lifted

Created: 2020.05.15 / Updated: 2020.05.15 15:33

On 15 May in Riga, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania signed a trilateral Memorandum of Understanding on lifting travel restrictions between Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania for land, rail, air, and maritime transport.

“The three Baltic states have taken active actions to address coronavirus. The progress made in preventing the spread of the disease has allowed the countries to gradually ease coronavirus lockdown and to take important decisions enabling their citizens to travel without restrictions again. This is very important for the countries’ economies, tourism promotion, and people-to-people ties," said Lithuania’s Foreign Minister L. Linkevičius.

The Governments of the three countries have taken the decision to open the borders simultaneously and to restore freedom of movement for citizens and persons legally residing in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

The Foreign Ministers also adopted a joint statement on a reciprocal lifting of restrictions on movement in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. From the very start of the crisis, the Baltic states have cooperated very closely with each other, exchanged information with their like-minded friends in the Nordic-Baltic Eight format, and worked together to help repatriate EU citizens.

Subscribe to our newsletters